At the end of each academic year a school may want to archive some, or all of their Google Classrooms. Perhaps because they're being taught by a new teacher or there has been a change in the curriculum or any other of a multitude of reasons. Below we set out how you can do this using Wonde Google Sync with the minimum possible disruption.

You have a couple of different options for how to manage the archiving process.

You might choose to archive all matched classes in Wonde Google Sync in order to start afresh for the following academic year. You can do this by clicking Archive all matched classes on google.wonde.com/matching/classes

This will return all of the dropdowns on the right-hand side to 'Create on sync', you will need to bear in mind that the next sync will reprovision all of these Classrooms, so if you do not want this to happen then you will need to make sure that automatic sync is turned off and that you only run a manual sync or turn the automatic sync back on, when you are ready to do so.

You can also select individual Classrooms to archive via the dropdowns on the right-hand side and selecting Archive class. Simply click Save matches in the top right-hand corner to complete the archiving process.

It is also possible to use the settings provided in the Google Classroom section of the Settings page on Google Sync to manage the automatic archiving of your school's Google Classrooms.

You can select the date on which you would like to archive your Classrooms, whether you would like to reprovision them, whether you would like to reprovision them with their attached resources (as drafts) or as blank Classrooms and the date you would like to reprovision them on. Reprovisioned Classrooms will have a year date appended to their name to differentiate from the previous years Classrooms (e.g. 2021/2022).

Completely new classes and registration groups entered to the MIS will be provisioned according to whether you have chosen to have Classrooms provisioned by Google Sync automatically or manually (via the Google Classroom user interface).

Save any settings when you are happy with them before running a sync at the top of the page.

Did this answer your question?